How does workers compensation insurance work

Each state has its own unique set of_workers' compensation laws that employers must follow. These regulations help ensure that employers provide coverage for the costs of work-related injuries or occupational diseases, regardless of the employee's negligence.

How does workers compensation insurance work


An employee can only receive_benefits if their injury or illness is related to their job duties or employment. For example, workers' comp insurance can cover injuries caused by:

Lifting heavy equipment

Falling objects

Slipping on a wet or oily surface

Fires or explosions

If an employee is injured outsidethe scope of their employment, such as playing soccer with friends on a day off, workers' compensation insurance will not cover them.


Who needs workers' compensation insurance?

Workers' compensation insurance_coverage is required by law_in almost every state. Some employee exemptions exist, so you'll want to check with your state to find out if coverage is mandatory for your business.

Forgoing workers' comp coverage puts your company at high financial risk. You may face a lawsuit for a workplace injury and even receive a fine for breaking the law.

Remember, workers comp insurance protects both your employees and the small business. For example, employees who receive workers' comp benefits generally cannot sue you for injuries or lost wages.


However, they can sue you for things that aren't covered by workers' comp, such as negligence. In these cases, employer's liability insurance can help protect your business. Most_ workers' comp policies include_this coverage.

How much does workers compensation insurance cost?

In 2021, the national average cost for workers' compensation insurance through Progressive was $65 per month. The average monthly price was $111.

A lower median cost suggests that outliers show average premiums higher than most policyholders' costs. Your rate will depend on specific attributes of your business, including your state, salary and claims history.

The best way to discover what factors affect your workers' low costs is to get a workers' compensation insurance quote.

How to get workers comp insurance with Progressive

Most states allow you to purchase_workers' comp insurance through_private insurance companies like us. We help a wide range of businesses obtain the coverage they need under their state's workers' compensation laws.

Some buyers have limited options for securing a workers' compensation insurance policy. If you need coverage in Ohio, North Dakota, Washington or Wyoming, you should contact your state for insurance. These states only allow_businesses to_ purchase workers' compensation insurance through them.

Visit our state directory for more information on workers' compensation for your small business. Start a quote online or call us to_speak with a_licensed agent.


General questions of  workers compensation insurance

What does workers compensation cover?

In addition to injuries that occur outside of work, injuries that occur intentionally, while commuting to work, or due to intoxication or substance abuse are not covered by workers' compensation.

Who is covered under workers compensation?

This varies based on where your business operates. For example, certain_types of employees, such as seasonal workers, may not be covered by workers_' compensation_ in some states. Contact us at 1-888-806-9598 and_we'll help answer any state-specific questions you_may have about your coverage.

Do I need workers' compensation and_general liability insurance?

Most businesses should have both workers' comp and general liability insurance. This coverage protects against various claims. Workers' compensation covers your employees, and general liability covers people and property unrelated to your business.

Most states require workers' compensation. Although general liability insurance is not mandatory, it should be considered to protect against other claims against your business.

Does a Sole Proprietor Need Workers' Compensation?

Usually not. Although workers' compensation laws vary from state to state, most states do not require sole proprietors to cover workers comp.


Next Post Previous Post
No Comment
Add Comment
comment url